Board Members & Sobor

The Board of Directors is a legal requirement of the government of Canada for all registered charities. The Board is responsible to the government for the proper ordering of the material and financial affairs of the life of the Mission. The Board of Directors is also responsible for ensuring adherence to the Letters Patent under which the Mission is incorporated by the supervising Ontario ministry

The Board of Directors of the Mission is the legal owner of the buildings of the Mission, and holds them in trust for the good and welfare of the Poor. The buildings are not owned by the Church or the diocese. The Board of Directors also provides accountability to society, assuring that the funds generated are used in service of society’s needy, and that no scandal can ever occur due to incompetency or misuse of money. The Board of Directors is responsible that adequate funds are raised for the work of the Mission. The Board of Directors must meet at least once a year to approve the budget of the Mission.

The leadership of the Community is based on the Orthodox concept of Sobornost — of persons working together for the good of all. The membership of St. John the Compassionate Mission will be made up of the Sobor (Council) members, according to the Mission by-laws. Members of the Sobor must be involved in the day-to-day life of the Mission and have a history with the Mission of at least five years.

At the invitation of the permanent members of the Sobor, any person can be invited to be a temporary member of the Sobor for one year. Permanent members of the Sobor are defined by the Rule. Decisions of the Sobor are normally reached by consensus.

 St. John’s
Board Members

  1. Fr. Eugene Morishita-Miki (chair)
  2. Sebastian Puthankandam (treasurer)
  3. Marco Bonatti
  4. Elena Constantin
  5. Daniel Gray
  6. Ange Martinez Arango
  7. J. Curtis McDonnell
  8. Robert Perri
  9. Chris Vanderwees

©2020 St. John the Compassionate Mission | 416-466-1357 | info@stjohnsmission.org
155 Broadview Avenue, Toronto, Canada M4M 2E9
Charitable Registration #893281832RR0001